I f You Buy A Dell Prepare To Go Through Hell

This is the story of the reliability of a Dell PC & their customer Support team.

Back in May 2012 I purchased a new Dell PC by August the DVD Drive had failed, the online technician wanted to send the drive to me so I could fit it.

I was taken aback by this and pointed out that I was disabled so had difficulty bending and didn’t know how to fit it. Reluctantly they agreed to send someone to fit it for me.

Come the end of the year I suddenly lost sound, once again I contact Dell who informs me that due to the holidays it couldn’t be collected until the 2nd of January. Not overjoyed but understanding I accepted.

On the 2nd I waited … waited … waited, you get the picture. At 4pm I phone Dell, the man who answers calls me mam. I point out I’m male and tell him my name. He then asks ‘can I have your full name Mam?’ I give it and again inform him that Mam is not the correct descriptive for me.

I attempt to get him to call the currier to confirm it will be collected that day, continuing to call me ‘Mam’ he asks me to wait until 5pm. Now from experience I know that at that time the offices of curriers will be closed. I insist he calls, he refuses I insist on speaking to his supervisor. Reluctantly he agrees and puts me through. They ask me to wait until 5.30pm! I inform him that unless it is picked up by 5pm or he calls me back to confirm it will be picked up I will call back.

At 5pm my phone rings a different man from Dell informs me he is a manager and apologises but the curriers state they had never received the order to pick my PC up for repairs. I point out that all his staff had insisted it was due for collection that day. More apologies but no action I state that in view of the poor quality of their equipment and the incompetence and insults from their staff I required either a new tower or a full refund. I’m told someone else will call me back.

I receive another call receive more apologies but still no action, he offers to dispatch an engineer to repair it, I hold firm to my position explaining I will be writing this blog about it. Told someone else will call me tomorrow, I explain as having spent all day in I needed to go shopping  the next morning and stated I would need to be called by 9.30AM .

The next morning at 9.40AM the phone rings, head of customer services calls more apologies’ even less action, despite their acceptance of not doing their job they will still not do anything but send an engineer out on the 4TH on an all day call!.

So as of today I still have no sound and have been treated abdominally.

So the moral is unless you want substandard equipment and insulting staff, don’t buy a Dell.

 

If you have had problems with Dell please post them below.

Leave a comment